GramCeesHouse Apple Turnovers

I asked you to help me decide what to make this weekend – you said apple turnovers. It would seem easy – some dough and some apples. Not so fast! These require puff pastry dough. So I had to decide — should I make or buy puff pastry? I’d made puff pastry before – not hard but seriously time consuming. So, I opted for the frozen pre-made puff pastry sheets.

Puff Pastry Sheets

Puff Pastry Sheets

Even using these sheets, there are some pitfalls to making turnovers. But it’s not too hard – just follow the recipe and the steps and you’ll get an excellent result. The recipe I followed came from my trusty Joy of Cooking cookbook. Here are the steps I used:

Step 1: Assemble the ingredients. If you’ve been reading my posts, you’ll have noticed this is always my first step. The pastry will have to thaw prior to using – the time it takes to thaw depends on your room temperature.  I removed them from the box and set aside to thaw. Peel the apples and set aside. Toss the apples with the flour, cinnamon, sugar, salt and lemon juice. Put bowl into the refrigerator until needed. TIP: You can make the apple mix ahead of time.

Peeled Apples

Peeled Apples

Lemon

Lemon

Lemon Juice

Lemon Juice

Apple Turnover Filling Ingredients

Apple Turnover Filling Ingredients

Step 2: Prepare the rolling surface. I’m all about quick cleanup. So I cover my surface with plastic wrap. To make it stick, put some water drops on the surface and then cover with the plastic wrap. Sprinkle it with flour to keep the dough from sticking.

Rolling Surface Prep

Rolling Surface Prep

Step 3: Roll the pastry dough into an approximate 10 by 10 square. The frozen dough will have fold marks in it when you lay it out. Using wet fingertips, pinch these edges together and then roll. TIP: Make sure you flour your rolling pin and start slowly – the dough may want to roll up onto your rolling pin. If this happens, just roll it backward until it falls off. Reflour your pin after each pass at the beginning. After a few rolls, the dough won’t stick.

Start Pastry Rolling

Start Pastry Rolling

Rolled Pastry

Rolled Pastry

Step 4: Fill and close. As per the recipe, cut the square into four smaller squares, turn over, put filling into the center, paint two edges with lightly whipped egg, fold and seal with a fork.

Sealed Turnover

Sealed Turnover

Step 5: Ready for baking. Transfer triangle to a baking sheet. Repeat for the other three squares. Cut three small slits the tops. Brush tops with egg white and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar. Put pan into refrigerator.  The pastry needs to be firm when it is put into the oven; cooling it will make it firm again.

TIP: Remove first pastry sheet rolling surface plastic wrap and throw away.

Rolling Cleanup

Rolling Cleanup

Step 6: Repeat Steps 2 – 5 for the other pastry sheet. You will have 8 triangles ready for baking. You’ll notice I use foil lined pans; this makes for easy cooling and pan clean up.

Turnovers Ready for Oven

Turnovers Ready for Oven

Step 7: Bake. I followed the recipe — 15 minutes at 400 and then 15 minutes at 350. I changed the pans top to bottom and bottom to top when I changed the temperature to help keep the bottoms from burning and to give an even top color.

Step 8: Remove and cool. After removing from the oven, transfer the foil sheets (with the turnovers on them) to wire racks to cool. When they are cool enough to handle, remove from the foil to the serving plate.

Turnovers Cooling

Turnovers Cooling

With this batch I had one ‘ugly’ triangle – the dough kept splitting when I folded it. But it still tasted great.

Thanks for helping me decide to make apple turnovers today.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

